Articles

Project Euler #1

In Golf, Project Euler, Ruby on May 11, 2009 by Matt Grande

I recently signed up for Project Euler. I’ve decided to see how far I can get, both just solving the problems and “golfing” them. If you’re not familiar with programming golf, it’s when you try to write as few lines of code and characters as possible.

So far, I’ve only solved the first problem, as I’ve just started. I’m looking forward to doing more in the future. If you’re interested, here’s my solution, along with my golf solution.

# If we list all the natural numbers below 10 that are 
# multiples of 3 or 5, we get 3, 5, 6 and 9. The sum 
# of these multiples is 23.
# Find the sum of all the multiples of 3 or 5 below 1000.

total = 0
1000.times do |i|
  if i % 3 == 0 or i % 5 == 0
    total += i
  end
end
puts total
# Score: 45
t=0;1000.times{|i|t+=i if i%3==0||i%5==0};p t
One Response to “Project Euler #1”

  1. Golf is my favorite game, sometimes we play golf with bets.”.:

Leave a Reply

